Related Important Links:              
Department Of Bengali You are here: Schools & Departments »

 

Departmental Profile

The Department of Bengali started functioning in 1994. The department was one of the first six departments launched in Assam University . Right from inception, the special emphasis of the faculty has been on strengthening the system of higher learning and research in Bengali language and literature. The department fully appreciates its role in the historical context of the language movement in the southern part of Assam. This year the university has set up Barak Bangla Sahitya Academy which is functioning under the department of Bengali. The Academy will collect, preserve, analyse, interpret and disseminate inputs pertaining to the gigantic treasure of folk language and culture that prevails in South Assam and so far has remained by and large unexplored.

Courses Offered

i) M.A(by course work)     Duration:Four Semesters     Intake Capacity:100

ii)M.Phil(by course work and dissertation)    Duration:Three Semesters

iii)Ph.D(by course and research work)

iv)D.Litt (by research work)

Open Course Paper

Faculty

Name & Qualification Designation Area of Specialization Contact & Email ID
Rama Bhattacharyya,  Ph.D. Professor Language and Post - Tagore Bengali Literature. rama.bhattacharyya@aus.ac.in
Bela Das,  Ph.D.  Professor Medieval Bengali Literature,19th Century Bengali Literature and Feminism. bela.das@yahoo.co.in
bela.das@aus.ac.in  

09435072797

Biswatosh Choudhury,  Ph.D. rofessor Tagore & Post Tagore Literature. biswatosh.chowdhury@aus.ac.in
Priya Kanta Nath (Ph.D.) Associate Professor Literary Theory and Modern Bengali Literature priya.kanta.nath@aus.ac.in
Debasish Bhattacharjee,  Ph.D.  Associate Professor Literary Theory, Modern Bengali Literature debashish.bhattacharjee@aus.ac.in

09435522841

Tripti Paul Choudhury,  Ph.D. Associate Professor Comparative Literature. tripti.paul.choudhury@aus.ac.in
Suman Gun,    Ph.D Professor Comparative Literature suman.gun@aus.ac.in
Santanu Sarkar,  Ph.D. Asstt. Professor Linguistics and Literary Criticism santanu.sarkar@aus.ac.in

09864371190

Durba Deb,  Ph.D. Asstt. Professor Modern Bengali Literature and Manuscriptolog durba.deb@aus.ac.in
Rami Chakraborty,  Ph.D. Asstt. Professor Literary theory and Modern Bengali Literature rami.chakraborty@aus.ac.in
Ashok Das,  Ph.D. Asstt. Professor Literary theory and Modern Bengali Literature ashok.das@aus.ac.in
Alauddin Mandal, Ph.D. Asstt. Professor Literary Theory & Modern Bengali Literature. alauddin.mondal@aus.ac.in

09401425431, 09434363986

Barunjyoti Choudhury,  Ph.D. Asstt. Professor Literary Theory & Modern Bengali Literature barunjyoti.choudhury@aus.ac.in
barunjyotichoudhury@gmail.com
09401416358
09435596135
 Bubul Sarma,  Ph.D Asstt. Professor Mediaeval Bengali Literature bubul.sarma@aus.ac.in

Head of the Department

Prof(Dr). Rama Bhattacharyya

     (: (03842) 270 364 (O)      

Placement

Students passing out of the department generally find placement as faculty members / researchers in universities , colleges and other educational institutions

Centre for Studies in Endangered Languages, Manuscriptology and Folkloristics

The Centre for Studies in Endangered Languages , Manuscriptology and Folkloristics(CELMF) started its functioning on official basis since 01-01-2009 under UGC approval.The Centre is attached to the Deptt. of Bengali of Assam University and is monitored by a Committee having Prof. S.Devi,Dean School of Language as Chairman,Dr.Biswatosh Choudhury,HOD,Bengali as Vice Chairman & Dr.D.Bhattacharya , Reader , Deptt. of Bengali as the Director i/c cum Convener.The members are the three faculties appointed at the centre along with some other teachers from different departments in the school of language.

Faculty

Name & Qualification Designation Area of Specialization Contact & Email ID
Rama Kanta Das,  Ph.D Asstt. Professor Folklore ramakanta.das@aus.ac.in
Rahul Das, Ph.D Asstt. Professor Literary Theory & Modern Bengali Literature rahul.das@aus.ac.in
Arjundev Sen Sharma,  Ph.D. Asstt. Professor Medieval  Bengali Literature arjundeb.sen.sarma@aus.ac.in

Director

Prof. Biswatosh Choudhury