Related Important Links:              
Department Of Commerce You are here: Schools & Departments »
 

Departmental Profile

The Department of Commerce was one of the first six departments of Assam University which started functioning in July 1994. The department offers Master of Commerce, M.Phil. and Ph.D. programmes of study. The thrust of the teaching and research programmes in the department is one of developing capabilities among the students for analyzing contemporary business scenario so as to be able to make correct and timely business decisions. The department has laid special focus on entrepreneurial and small business studies. The offered ranges of specialization cover such areas as Finace, Accounting and Taxation, and Marketing, among others.

Courses Offered

Courses Offered Duration Number of Seats
M.Com. (by course work) Four Semester 65
M.Phil (by course work & dissertation)
Ph.D. (by course work and research work)
D.Litt. (by research work)
PGDMM (by course work & dissertation) Two Semester 20
  • Open Choice Paper New
  • Faculty

    Name & Qualification Designation Area of Specialization Contact & Email ID
    D. K. Pandiya  M.Com, Ph.D. Professor Human Resource Management dinesh.kumar.pandiya@aus.ac.in
    09435172121
    Prof. Pranay Jyoti Goswami    MA(Eco), MA(Edu), M.Com, MBA(Marketing), MADE, MMC, Msc.(Psychology) PGDMC, PGDCA, PGDHRM, PGDDE, B.Ed, BLIS, Ph.D. Professor(HoD) Marketing, Applied Economics, Enterpreneurship & Banking,Computer Application, Business Statistics. pranay.jyoti.goswami@aus.ac.in
    pranayau@gmail.com
    (03842)2642348
    Brajesh Kumar  M.Com., Ph.D. Assistant Professor Business Economics and Finance,Consumer Behaviour & Marketing brajesh.kumar@aus.ac.in
    bpjc08@gmail.com
    Parag Shil   M.Com, PGDMM, M.Phil, Ph.D Assist. Professor Marketing, Accounting & Finance parag.shil@aus.ac.in
    ps_aus@yahoo.co.in
    09435376960
    Ram Chandra Das    M.Com., M. Phil. Assist. Professor Accounting & Finance ram.chandra.das@aus.ac.in
    09954564153
    Rajat Sharma Acharjee,  M.Com. Assist. Professor Accounting & Finance rajat.sharmacharjee@aus.ac.in
    09435201541
    Joyeeta Deb,   M.Com., Ph.D. Assist. Professor Accounting, Finance & Banking joyeeta.deb@aus.ac.in
    A. S. Yasro,  Ph.D Assistant Professor Marketing & HRM a.s.yarso@aus.ac.in
    Soma Roy Dey Choudhury,    M.Com, M.Phil., Ph.D. Assistant Professor Accounting & Entrepreneurship. soma.roy.deychoudhury@aus.ac.in
    Kingshuk Adhikari,  M.Phil,Ph.D. Assist. Professor Finance & Marketing,Computer Applications kingshuk.adhikari@aus.ac.in
    Prof. Nikhil Bhusan Dey  M.Com, LL.B., Ph.D. Emeritus Fellow Accounting & Finance, Small Business Management, Strategic Management nikhil.bhusan.dey@aus.ac.in
    nikhil.b.dey@gmail.com
    09435740703

    Head of the Department

    Prof. Pranay Jyoti Goswami

    Placement

    A good number of passed out students are now employed as teachers in colleges, universities and other educational institutions. Also many of the students have found placements in industrial and service organisations with in and outside North East India.