# DEPARTMENT OF ECOLOGY AND ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCE ASSAM UNIVERSITY. SILCHAR

NO: AU/EC/24/19-20/ Date: 12/03/2020

Minutes of the 53<sup>rd</sup> BPGS meeting held on 12<sup>th</sup> March, 2020 at 11.00 PM in the Department of Ecology and Environmental Science. Professor Mithra Dey, Head of the Department and Chairperson, BPGS presided over the meeting.

#### **Members present:**

1.	Prof. Mithra Dey	(Chairman)
2.	Prof. N. Pandey	(Dean (i/c) & Member)
3.	Prof. Abhik Gupta	(Member)
4.	Prof. D.C. Ray	(Member)
5.	Prof. Parthankar Choudhury	(Member)
6.	Prof. Ajit Kr. Das	(Member)
7.	Prof. Susmita Gupta	(Member)
8.	Dr. Aparajita De	(Member)
9.	Dr. Tapati Das	(Member)
10.	Prof. Pijush Pandey	(Member, Dept.of Microbiology)

Resolutions adopted in the 53rd BPGS meeting are as follows:

#### Item No.1: Confirmation of the minutes of the last BPGS meeting.

The minutes of the 52nd meeting of the BPGS held on 12th March, 2020 were read and unanimously confirmed.

#### **Item No.2: Ph.D. title registration – 03 cases**

03 (three) cases were placed before the BPGS committee and were discussed. In case of Shyamalima Paul, the changes suggested by RAC were incorporated. Dr. Partha Palit, Assistant Professor, Dept. of Pharmaceutical Science, AUS, has been proposed as Co-supervisor for Shyamalima Paul. However, since there is no Post Graduate Programme in the Dept. of Pharmaceutical Science, and teaching experience in PG Course is a pre-requisite for Co-supervisor, hence it has to be decided by the higher body regarding his eligibility as Co-supervisor.

Members suggested that an abstract should be incorporated along with the synopsis by all the candidates. All the proposed cases were passed to the School Board after approval by the members (**Appendix-I**).

### Name of the Candidates:

SL.	NAME
NO	
1	Shyamalima Paul
2	Laishram Kabita Chanu
3	Titam Dey

## Item No.3: M.Phil. title registration – 01 case

01 (one) case was placed before the BPGS committee and was discussed. Members suggested that an abstract should be incorporated along with the synopsis by the candidate. The proposed case was passed to the School Board after approval by the members (**Appendix-II**).

### Name of the Candidates:

SL. NO	NAME
1	Ananya Bhattacharjee

### **Item No. 4: Extension of Period (As per 2009 regulation)**

09 (Nine) candidates applied for extension of period (1Year) after completion of four years. These were approved and submitted to the School Board for further processing (**Appendix-III**).

#### Name of the Candidates:

Sl. No	NAME
1.	Nengpilam Haokip
2.	Tanmay Sinha
3.	Mausam Kumar Paul
4.	Amir Sohail Choudhury
5.	Rofik Ahmed Barbhuiya
6.	Satyajit Das
7.	Shilpa Shyam
8.	Panna Chandra Nath
9.	Durlov Jyoti Kalita

## Item No.5: Change of Supervisor/Co-supervisor

02 (two) candidates applied for inclusion of Co-supervisor as their Supervisor Dr. Hilloljyoti Singha is currently on lien. Dr. Aparajita De was proposed as Co-supervisor for Durlov Jyoti Kalita and Prof. Ajit Kr. Das for Mohommad Miraj Hussain. These cases were duly approved by the members (**Appendix-IV**).

#### Name of the Candidates:

Sl. No	Name	
1.	Durlov Jyoti Kalita	
2.	Mohommad Miraj Hussain	

## **Item No.6: Re-registration (As per 2009 regulation)**

04 (four) candidates applied for re-registration. These were forwarded to the School Board (Appendix-V).

## Name of the Candidates:

Sl.No	Name		
1.	Biswajit Singh		
2.	Debonina Dutta		
3.	Madhusmita Dutta		
4.	Pangeijam Bijaya Devi		

## Item No.7: Panel of examiners.

The panel of examiners for Ph.D was reported. There are 6 (six) candidates. These will be submitted to the School Board for further processing (**Appendix-VI**).

#### Name of the Candidates:

SL.NO.	NAME	
1.	Nengpilam Haokip	
2.	Nazimur Rahman Talukdar	
3.	Amir Sohail Choudhury	
4	Rofik Ahmed Barbhuiya	
5	Mausam Kumar Paul	
6	Anupama Saha	

Item No.8: M.Phil. & Ph.D. awarded – (01 M.Phil. & 02 Ph.D.): Reporting items One M.Phil. and two Ph.D. degrees were awarded. The details are as follows:

#### Name of the candidates:

Sl. No	NAME OF RESEARCH SCHOLAR	DEPARTMENT	PH.D./M.PHIL. REGISTRATION NO. & DATE	TITLE	DATE OF NOTIFICAT ION	SUPERVISOR/ CO- SUPERVISOR
1.	Sibam Sarkar	Ecology and Environmental Science	Enrolment No. 0220170021 of 2017 (Adm date 31/03/2017)	A Study on the feeding behaviour of selected anurans from tea estates in Cachar district, Assam, India	19/10/2019	Prof. Mithra Dey
2.	Siddhartha Bhatacharjee (awarded posthumously)	Ecology and Environmental Science	Ph.D. 361/06 Dt. 24/04 /2006	Solid waste management in some major cities of North East India with special reference to Silchar.	05/12/2019	Prof. Susmita Gupta
3	Mairembam Thoibi Devi	Ecology and Environmental Science	PhD/1743/2011 Dt.15/09/11	Medicinal Plants used for woman health care among Meitei community of Manipur with special reference to their phytochemical study	03/03/2020	Prof. Ajit Kumar Das

# Item No.9: Ph.D. pre-submission seminar (delivered after 28/08/2019) – 02 cases: Reporting items (As per UGC regulation, 2009)

02 (two) candidates for Ph.D. listed below presented their pre-submission seminar in the presence of expert members. The experts approved the thesis for submission. The cases were forwarded to the School Board for recording.

#### Name of the candidates:

Sl. No	NAME
1	Arpita Dalal
2	Poppy Rajbongshi

# Item No.10: M.Phil. Pre-submission seminar (delivered after 28/08/2019)— 01 case: Reporting items (As per UGC regulation, 2017)

One candidate presented her pre-submission seminar in the presence of expert members. The experts approved the thesis for submission. The candidate was considered favourably by the board members and recommended to the School Board for recording.

#### Name of the candidate:

SL. NO	NAME
1	Rupalim Sarmah

## Item No.11: Presentation of Half yearly progress of work

## A. Ph. D. (2017 batch) Presentation given on 05/03/2020 (as per UGC regulation, 2017)

Sl. No.	NAME	ENROLMENT NO.	SUPERVISOR/COSUPERVISOR
1.	L. Ricky Meitei	0120170054 of 2017	Supervisor- Dr. Aparajita De Co-Supervisor- Dr. A. A. Mao

2.	Deborah Daolagupu	0120170054 of 2017	Supervisor-Prof. Parthankar Choudhury
3	Sultana Parven	0120170049 of 2017	Supervisor -Prof. Abhik Gupta
			Co-Supervisor- Dr. Aparajita De
4	Aasif Abdullah Baba	0120170050 of 2017	Supervisor -Prof. Abhik Gupta
			Co-Supervisor- Dr. Ajit Kumar Das
5	Piyali Das	0120170052 of 2017	Supervisor -Prof. Mithra Dey
6	T.Henashree Sharma	0120170053 of 2017	Supervisor -Prof. Mithra Dey
7.	Rupam Sarmah	0120180041 of 2018	Supervisor -Dr. Panna Deb

# B. Ph. D. (2018 batch) Presentation given on 06/03/2020 (as per UGC regulation, 2017)

Sl.	NAME	ENROLMENT NO.	SUPERVISOR/CO-SUPERVISOR
No.			
1	Jyoti Bikash	0120180185 of 2018	Supervisor- Prof. Parthankar Choudhury
	Baishya		
2	Syed Saddam	0120180183 of 2018	Supervisor –Prof. D.C. Ray
3	Samim Barbhuiya	0120180184 of 2018	Supervisor- Dr. Tapati Das.
	·		
4	Nirmal Debnath	0120180186 of 2018	Supervisor- Dr. Arun Jyoti Nath
5	Tanushree	0120170163 of 2017	Supervisor-Prof. Susmita Gupta
	Chakraborty		

# C. Ph. D. (2019 batch) Presentation given on 5/03/2020 (as per UGC regulation, 2017)

Sl.	NAME	ENROLMENT NO.	SUPERVISOR/CO-SUPERVISOR
No.			
1	Oli Borah	0120190087 of 2019	Supervisor:
			Prof. Ajit Kumar Das
2	Bandana Kurmi	0120190092 of 2019	Supervisor:
			Dr. Arun Jyoti Nath

The meeting ended with vote of thanks to and from the chair.

(Prof. Mithra Dey) Head & Chairman, BPGS Dept. of Ecology & Environmental Science Assam University, Silchar

# Copy to:

- (i) The P.S. to V.C. for kind information of the Vice Chancellor
- (ii) The Registrar, Assam University, Silchar
- (iii) The Dean, EPOSES, Dept. of Ecology & Envtl. Science
- (iv) All members of the BPGS
- (v) Office file