DEPARTMENT OF ECOLOGY AND ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCE ASSAM UNIVERSITY, SILCHAR

NO: AU/EC/26/08-09/ 3rd Sept, 2015

Minutes of the 43rd BPGS meeting held on 3rd September, 2015 at 2.00 pm in the Department of Ecology and Environmental Science. Professor Jayashree Rout, Head of the Department and Chairperson, BPGS presided over the meeting.

Members present:

1.	Prof. Jayashree Rout	(Chairperson)
2.	Prof. M. C. Kalita	(External member)
3.	Prof. A. Gupta	(Member)
4.	Prof.Ashesh Kumar Das	(Member)
5.	Prof. D.C. Ray	(Member)
6.	Prof. P.B. Mazumder	(Member)
7.	Prof. Parthankar Choudhury	(Member)
8.	Prof. Mithra Dey	(Member)
9.	Dr. Pradeep Ch. Paul	(Member)
10.	. Dr. Ajit Kr. Das	(Member)
11.	. Dr. Susmita Gupta	(Member)
12.	. Dr. Arun Jyoti Nath	(Member)

Resolutions adopted in the meeting are as follows:

Item No.1: Confirmation of minutes of the 42nd BPGS meeting held on 31/3/2015

The HOD read out the minutes of the last 42nd BPGS meeting and confirmed the same.

Item No. 2: Ph.D. Provisional Registration

The proposals for provisional Ph.D. registration were received from 9 candidates. The candidates had requisite qualifications for Ph.D. provisional registration (qualified IPP course work). The candidates delivered their provisional registration seminar in the Departmental Research Board (DRB) meeting (Appendix-I).

Synopsis of the candidates listed below have been discussed and modifications in the title of the synopsis of a few candidates have been suggested by the external member. The external member and other board members approved the list for placing in the School Board meeting.

Name of the Candidates:

Sl.No.	Name
1.	Nijira Brahma
2.	Rajeeb Chetia Pator
3.	Biswajit Singh
4.	Anupama Saha
5.	Debonina Dutta

6.	Jyoti Rani Nath
7.	Pangeijam Bijaya Devi
8.	Madhusmita Dutta
9.	Milon Das

Item No. 3: M.Phil. Registration

Applications were received from 2 candidates for M.Phil registration as listed below. The candidates qualified the IPP course for M.Phil registration. (**Appendix II**)

Name of the Candidates:

Sl.No.	Name	
1.	Ankana Das	
2.	Rupam Sarmah	

Item No. 4: Ph.D. Final Registration

The applications for Ph.D. final registration of 02 candidates as listed below along with the progress reports were placed in the meeting. The candidates delivered their final registration seminar in presence of experts within 18 months. The members approved the reports after incorporating suggestions and forwarded the same for onward transmission to the school board meeting for consideration. The details regarding the Ph.D. final registration topics are enclosed separately (**Appendix-III**).

Name of the Candidates:

Sl. No.	Name
1	Sunita Mongjam
2	Identicia Marwein

Item No. 5: Recognition of Co-supervisor

 i) Co-supervisor Dr. N. Mohilal Meitei Name of the candidate : Sunita Mongjam Supervisor- Prof. Mithra Dey

The case will be approved subject to the confirmation of teaching experience in college in permanent post.

ii) Co-supervisor Dr. Tanmoy Karak Name of the candidate: Jyoti Rani Nath Supervisor- Dr. Tapati Das

- a) Application of Co-supervisor should be submitted through proper channel.
- b) Co-supervisor does not fulfil the criteria of Co-supervisor-ship under the Assam University norms, since he has completed only 5 years of regular position as Scientist.
- iii) Co-supervisor Dr. H.B. Singh, Principal Scientist, CSIR Branch station, NEIST, Manipur.

Name of the candidate : P. Bijaya Devi Supervisor : Dr. Panna Deb

N.O.C. is required from Dr. H.B. Singh.

Item No.6: Extension of time for submission of Ph.D. thesis for 1 year after completion of 4 years.

The applications were received from 08 candidates for one year extension after completion of normal tenure of 4 (four) years from the date of provisional registration was placed in the meeting and approval for onward transmission to the School Board for consideration. (**Appendix-IV**).

Name of the Candidates:

Sl. No.	Name
1	Kasturi Chakraborty
2	Moirangthem Ranjeeta Devi
3	Salam Rita Devi
4	Yumnam Surbala Devi
5	Ghanapyari Devi Konthoujam
6	Maniza Choudhury
7	Jyotirupa Deka
8	Rajkumari Sanayaima Devi

Item No.7: Ph.D. Re-registration

The application received from the candidate listed below for re-registration was discussed as the candidate had completed 5 years from the date of provisional registration. Re-registration of the candidate was approved by the members favourably and forwarded to the School Board for consideration (**Appendix-V**).

Name of the Candidate:

Sl. No	Name	Provisional Registration	Re-registration
			w.e.f.
1	Lohit Gogoi	Ph.D./1209/10	28.07.2015
		Dt.28.07.2010	

Item No.8: Ph. D. awarded during April 2015 to August 2015

Seven candidates listed below have been awarded Ph.D. during April 2015 to August 2015. These cases have been forwarded to the School Board for record. (**Appendix-VI**)

Name of the candidates:

Sl. No.	Name
1	Maisnam Sapana Devi
2	Rita Chakpram
3	Haobam Khumanleima Chanu
4	Soma Datta
5	Bhaswati Sarma
6	Mofidul Islam
7	Kshetrimayum Bijayalaxmi Devi

Item No.9: M.Phil. awarded during April 2015 to August 2015

Two candidates has been awarded M.Phil. The cases have been forwarded to the School Board for record. (Appendix-VII)

Name of the candidates:

1	Laishram Mema Devi
2	Rashmi Rekha Bhagawati

Item No. 10: Ph.D. pre-submission seminar

Twenty three research scholars for Ph.D. listed below presented their pre-submission seminar in presence of expert members. The experts approved the thesis for submission. The candidates were considered by the board members and recommended to the School Board for recording (**Appendix-VIII**).

Name of the candidates:

1	Elangban Jayantakumar Singh
2	Hasina Begum Barbhuyia
3	Dulumoni Tamuly
4	Yumnam NganthoinDevi
5	Jayalaxmi Ningthoujam
6	Yumnam Devashree
7	
	Deepti Mala Singha
8	Bidisha Chakraborty
9	Simi Talukdar
10	Thangjam Gopeshwor
11	Nimisha
12	Rinku Moni Kalita
13	Bijita Barman
14	Shoubhonik Deb
15	Tampak Meena
16	Leimapokpam Amarjit Singh
17	Supriya Maimom
18	Nikhil Chandra Das
19	Anuradha Das
20	Jayashree Bhattacharjee
21	Himabrata Chakravarty
22	Shougrakpam Bijen Meetei
23	Rajkumari Sanayaima Devi

Item No.10: M.Sc. Syllabus

All the papers will be of 100 marks keeping the credit same. Total mark will be 2400.

Item No.11: <u>List of examiners of M.Sc. papers</u>

List of examiners has been placed.

Item No.12: AOB

i). The case of Abdul Razzak, regarding the change of Ph.D. Supervisor was discussed. It was noted that the existing Supervisor, Prof. B.K. Dutta, after his superannuation will be the Co-supervisor and Prof. Dulal Chandra Ray, the existing Co-supervisor will the Supervisor for the Ph.D. research of Abdul Razzak.

(Appendix-IX)

Members of the committee recommended the same.

ii). The case of Mondakini Soren, regarding the change of Ph.D. Supervisor was discussed. It was noted that the existing Supervisor, Prof. B.K. Dutta, after his superannuation will be the Co-supervisor and Dr. Ajit Kumar Das, the existing Co-supervisor will the Supervisor for the Ph.D. research of Mondakini Soren .

(Appendix-IX)

Members of the committee recommended the same.

The meeting ended with vote of thanks to and from the chair.

(Prof. Jayashree Rout) Head & Chairperson, BPGS Dept. of Ecology & Environmental Science Assam University, Silchar

Copy to:

- (i) The P.S. to V.C. for kind information of the Vice Chancellor
- (ii) The Registrar, Assam University, Silchar
- (iii) The Dean, EPOSES, Dept. of Ecology & Envtl. Science
- (iv) All members of the BPGS
- (v) Office file