## DEPARTMENT OF ECOLOGY AND ENVIRONMENTAL SCIENCE ASSAM UNIVERSITY, SILCHAR

NO: AU/EC/26/08-09/ 23<sup>rd</sup> March, 2016

Minutes of the 44<sup>th</sup> BPGS meeting held on 23<sup>rd</sup> March, 2016 at 2.00 pm in the Department of Ecology and Environmental Science. Professor Jayashree Rout, Head of the Department and Chairperson, BPGS presided over the meeting.

#### **Members present:**

1.	Prof. Jayashree Rout	(Chairperson)
2.	Prof. A. Gupta	(Member)
3.	Prof.Ashesh Kumar Das	(Member)
4.	Prof. D.C. Ray	(Member)
5.	Prof. Parthankar Choudhury	(Member)
6.	Prof. Mithra Dey	(Member)
7.	Prof. P.B. Mazumder	(Member)
8.	Dr. Ajit Kr. Das	(Member)

Resolutions adopted in the meeting are as follows:

## Item No.1: Confirmation of minutes of the 43<sup>rd</sup> BPGS meeting held on 03/09/2015

The HOD read out the minutes of the last 43<sup>rd</sup> BPGS meeting and confirmed the same.

#### Item No. 2: Ph.D. Final Registration

The applications for Ph.D. final registration of 06 candidates as listed below along with the progress reports were placed in the meeting. The candidates delivered their final registration seminar in presence of experts within 18 months. The members approved the reports after incorporating suggestions and forwarded the same for onward transmission to the school board meeting for consideration. The details regarding the Ph.D. final registration topics are enclosed separately (**Appendix-I**).

#### Name of the Candidates:

Sl. No.	Name
1	Himangshu Sharma
2	Rupam Debnath
3	Chongtham Memtombi Chanu
4	Heikham Vivek Singh
5	Pator Singnar
6	Mohommad Miraj Hussain

# Item No.3: Extension of time for submission of Ph.D. thesis for 1 year after completion of 4 years.

The applications were received from 15 candidates for one year extension after completion of normal tenure of 4 (four) years from the date of provisional registration was placed in the meeting and approval for onward transmission to the School Board for consideration (**Appendix-II**).

#### Name of the Candidates:

Sl. No.	Name
1	Birkhungur Borogayari
2	Thingujam Bhogen Singh
3	Rinku Goswami
4	Suraj Sharma
5	Dipankar Debnath
6	Pammi Singh
7	Sushmita Dey
8	Mondakini Soren
9	Dharitri Choudhury
10	Anjuna Mutum
11	Sangeeta Haflongbar
12	Rajashree Saikia
13	Manabendra Ray Choudhury
14	Biswajyoti Bikomiya Deori
15	Biswajit Chakdar

#### Item No.4: Extension of time for submission of M.Phil. dissertation.

The application received from 03 candidates for extension of time for 1 year after completion of 1 year from the date of M. Phil. registration has been discussed and approved by the board members as per the application of the candidate (**Appendix-III**).

Sl.No	Name
1	Arundhati Gogoi
2	Shilpa Shyam
3	Ankana Das

#### **Item No.5: Ph.D. Re-registration**

The application received from the candidate listed below for re-registration was discussed as the candidate had completed 5 years from the date of provisional registration. Re-registration of the candidate was approved by the members favourably and forwarded to the School Board for consideration (**Appendix-IV**).

## Name of the Candidate:

Sl. No	Name	Provisional Registration	Re-registration
			w.e.f.
1	Debajit Rabha	Ph.D./1400/2011	06.04.2016
		dt.06/04/2011	

## Item No.6: Ph. D. awarded during October 2015 to March 2016

Twenty candidates listed below have been awarded Ph.D. during October 2015 to March 2016. These cases have been forwarded to the School Board for record (**Appendix-V**).

## Name of the candidates:

Sl. No.	Name
1	Jayalaxmi Ningthoujam
2	Naba Jyoti Borah
3	Anup Dey
4	Yumnam Devashree
5	Rinku Moni Kalita
6	Hasina Begum Barbhuiya
7	Deepti Mala Singha
8	Supriya Maimom
9	Yumnam Nganthoi Devi
10	Dulumoni Tamuly
11	Jogesh Laishram
12	Elangbam Jayantakumar Singh
13	Thangjam Gopeshwor Singh
14	Shoubhonik Deb
15	Saumya Das Gupta
16	Ashraful Hussain
17	Simi Talukdar
18	Bidisha Chakrabarty
19	Bijita Barman
20	Shougrakpam Bijen Meetei

#### Item No. 6: Ph.D. pre-submission seminar

Six research scholars for Ph.D. listed below presented their pre-submission seminar in presence of expert members. The experts approved the thesis for submission. The candidates were considered by the board members and recommended to the School Board for recording.

## Name of the candidates:

Sl.	Name of the candidate	Date
No.		
1	Thounaojam Maipakpi Chanu	09/09/2015
	Ph.D./1721/2011	
	dt. 15/09/2011	

2	Salam Rita Devi	12/10/2015
	Ph.D./1723/2011	
	dt. 15/09/2011	
3	Ngangom Nganbi Devi	08/12/2015
	Ph.D./1717/2011	
	dt. 15/09/2011	
4	Amit Kumar Dey	08/12/2015
	Ph.D./678/2009	
	dt. 06/02/2009	
5	Md.Anisur Rahman	07/01/2016
	Ph.D./1735/2011	
	dt. 15/09/2011	
6	Apurba Chakraborty	07/01/2016
	Ph.D./1733/2011	
	dt. 15/09/2011	

Members of the committee recommended the same.

The meeting ended with vote of thanks to and from the chair.

(Prof. Jayashree Rout) Head & Chairperson, BPGS Dept. of Ecology & Environmental Science Assam University, Silchar

## Copy to:

- (i) The P.S. to V.C. for kind information of the Vice Chancellor
- (ii) The Registrar, Assam University, Silchar
- (iii) The Dean, EPOSES, Dept. of Ecology & Envtl. Science
- (iv) All members of the BPGS
- (v) Office file