Department of English Assam University, Silchar

25.09.2021

Minutes of the meeting of the Departmental Research Committee (DRC) held on 21.09.2021 from 11.30 am in the Library-cum-Seminar Hall of the Department with the participation of the following members:

Prof. Dipendu Das

Prof. Baby Pushpa Sinha

Prof. Shanti Pokhrel (Dept. of Sanskrit)

Dr. Anindya Syam Choudhury

Dr. Saugata Kumar Nath

Dr. Jaydeep Chakrabarty

Dr. Sumana Chakraborty

Dr. Lalthakim Hmar

Dr. Sib Sankar Majumder

Minutes:

- 1. The Proposal for Title Registration for Ph. D. programme submitted by Avantika Dev Roy is discussed. The meeting considers that the title of the proposed research work needs to be rephrased, the Statement of the Problem be slightly shortened, and certain sweeping statements be removed/ toned down. Then the revised proposal be submitted prior to the next meeting of the BPGS for discussion of the same there. This is conveyed to the Scholar through the Research Supervisor.
- 2. The Proposal for Title Registration for Ph. D. programme submitted by Shilu Singha is discussed. The meeting considers that the title of the proposal needs to be rephrased and re-submitted prior to the next meeting of the BPGS for discussion of the same there. This is conveyed to the Scholar through the Research Supervisor.
- 3. The Proposal for Title Registration for Ph. D. programme submitted by Suvam Nath Sharma is discussed. The meeting considers that the title of the proposal needs to be rephrased, the scope of study be limited to one of the epics, the *Ramayana* or the *Mahabharata*, only, and resubmitted prior to the next meeting of the BPGS for discussion of the same there. This is conveyed to the Scholar through the Research Supervisor.
- 4. The Proposal for Title Registration for M. Phil. programme submitted by Debanjali Kar is discussed. The meeting considers that the title of the proposal needs to be rephrased and re-submitted prior to the next meeting of the BPGS for discussion of the same there. This is conveyed to the Scholar through the Research Supervisor.
- 5. The proposal for Title Registration submitted to the RAC by Niribili Konwar for M. Phil. programme was not considered up to the mark by

- the RAC, including her Supervisor. The Supervisor considers that she needs to study further in order to reformulate her Proposal. Accordingly, the meeting resolves that Niribili Konwar prepares her proposal for Title Registration and submits the same in the next Semester. This is conveyed to the Scholar through the Research Supervisor.
- 6. The Proposal for Title Registration for M. Phil. programme submitted by Papari Das is discussed. The meeting considers that the title of the proposal needs to be rephrased and re-submitted prior to the next meeting of the BPGS for discussion of the same there. This is conveyed to the Scholar through the Research Supervisor.
- 7. The Proposal for Title Registration for M. Phil. programme submitted by Shabnam Tabassum for M. Phil. Title Registration is discussed. The meeting approves of the same and forwards the same to the BPGS for further necessary action.
- 8. The meeting considers the application of Somnaath Bhattacharjee for extension of period for Ph. D. for one year from 31.03.2021 to 30.03.2022, approves and forwards the same to the BPGS for further necessary action.
- 9. The meeting considers the application of Gayotri Singha for re-Registration to the Ph. D. programme, then approves it, and forwards the same to the BPGS for further necessary action.
- 10. The meeting accepts, approves, and forwards to the BPGS for further necessary action the Progress Reports of the following Ph. D. Scholars:
 - a) Anup Kumar Das
 - b) Asit Kanti Sarkar
 - c) Debojvoti Das
 - d) Dorothy Hengna
 - e) Kinshuk Chakraborty
 - f) Longjam Gaurav Singha
 - g) Mehdi Hasan Chowdhury
 - h) Nabanita Biswas
 - i) Namrata Nath
 - j) Neepa Debnath
 - k) Ranadip Dutta
 - 1) Saptarshi Bhattacharjee
 - m) Satarupa Deb
 - n) Shyma Begum
 - o) Supriya Singha
 - p) Suryatapa Nath
 - q) Tina Majumder
- 11. The meeting accepts, approves, and forwards to the BPGS for further necessary action the Ph. D. Pre-Submission Reports of the following Scholars:
 - a) Anindita Nandi
 - b) Somnaath Bhattacharjee

- c) Sukannya Choudhury
- 12. The meeting accepts, approves, and forwards to the BPGS for further necessary action the M. Phil. Pre-Submission Reports of the following Scholar:
 - a) Ahana Ganguly
- 13. On the basis of the Report of the RAC, the meeting accepts, approves, and forwards to the BPGS for further necessary action the proposal of Nabanita Biswas, a Ph. D. Scholar of the Department, to change a few texts. However, the registered title of her ongoing Ph. D. work remains the same.
- 14. The meeting discusses the application of Dr. Sumana Chakraborty for allowing her to withdraw from the Supervision of two Ph. D. Scholars, viz., Saptarshi Bhattacharjee and Anindita Hazarika, on health and other issues, and re-allocation of Supervisor(s) for the said scholars. The members present in the meeting did not express their willingness to supervise either of the Scholars because of various issues like vacancy position, area of research interest etc. The meeting resolves to forward the same to BPGS for further necessary action.
- 15. The meeting ends with thanks from and to the Chair.

Sd/Prof. Baby Pushpa Sinha
HoD, English
Assam University, Silchar