Department of English

Assam University, Silchar

Dated: 21.10.2020

Minutes of the meeting of the Departmental Research Committee (DRC) held on 21.10.2020 with the participation of the following members:

Prof. Dipendu Das Prof. Baby Pushpa Sinha (Chairperson) Dr Anindya Syam Choudhury Dr. Saugata Kumar Nath Dr. Jaydeep Chakrabarty Dr. Sumana Chakraborty Dr. Lalthakim Hmar Dr. Sib Sankar Majumder

 The Pre-submission presentations by the following candidates were approved

Arunabha Bhattacharjee Arpita Dey Paul Mozbul Hoque Choudhury Moyuri Dutta Arundhuti Dutta Choudhury

2. The Progress Reports of the following candidates were approved

Ranadip Dutta Longjam Gaurav Kumar Sungha Sukannya Choudhury Suryatapa Nath Gayotri Singha Nabanita Biswas Anindita Nandi Neepa Debnath Devashree Chakraborty Namrata Nath Kinshook Chakraborty Dorothy Hengna Tina Majumder Supriya Singha Somnaath Bhattacharjee Saptarshi Bhattacharjee Satarupa Deb Asit Kanti Sarkar Anup Kumar Das Mehdi Hasan Choudhury Debojyoti Das Shyma Begum

- The IPP scholars are to submit 3 selected topics each to their respective Supervisors for 504 latest by 2/11/2020. The Supervisors shall finalise those in consultation with the respective RACs by 5/11/2020 for further necessary action.
- 4. Regarding the two candidates seeking exemption from Course Work, it was decided that the matter will be forwarded to the Hon'ble Vice Chancellor to resolve the incongruity between Clause No 7.5 of Assam University Research Ordinance and the Format for application of exemption from Coursework. The Department will communicate to the scholars that they are to continue with their coursework classes till the directive from the Vice Chancellor comes.
- Regarding the issue of assignments in lieu of classes in case of Ms Papori Das, the DRC authorised the concerned RAC to do the needful.
- 6. Panels of Examiners for Arundhati Roy, Arunabha Bhattacharjee and Anindita Nandi were approved.
- 7. The next BPGS will be formed including internal members as per the Acts and Statues etc of Assam University. As external experts, the following names were approved---Prof Nandini Bhattacharjee from Burdwan University Prof Sukalpa Bhattacharjee from NEHU Prof K C Baral from EFLU

B.P. Sinte

Prof. Baby Pushpa Sinha