

## DEPARTMENT OF STATISTICS ASSAM UNIVERSITY :: SILCHAR

Date: 19th September, 2021

The fourth meeting of the Departmental Research Committee (DRC) was conducted online through Google Meet on 19.09.2021 at 6. P.M to discuss on the following agenda:

- 1. Pre-submission of Ph.D Scholars
- 2. Panel of Experts for Ph.D thesis submission
- 3. Ph.D extension periods
- 4. Title registration of Ph.D scholar
- 4. Any other Items

In the meeting the following members were present:

1.	Dr. Rama Shanker	Chairman
2.	Prof. Niranjan Roy	External Member
3.	Prof. B. Indrajit Sharma	External Member
4.	Prof. Dibyojyoti Bhattacharjee	Member
5.	Dr. Tanusree Deb Roy	Member
6.	Dr. Jonali Gogoi	Member

At the very outset the Chairman welcomed all the members to the online meeting of DRC members of the Department of Statistics, Assam University, Silchar.

## Item 1: Pre-submission of Ph.D Scholar

- a. Mr. Mrinal Deka
- b. Ms. Umme Habibah Rahman

Mr. Mrinal Deka and Ms. Umme Habibah Rahman both have fulfilled the requisite criterion required for giving pre-submission seminar. They are under the new Ph.D. regulation of 2018. Mr. Mrinal Deka is supervised by Prof. Dibyojyoti Bhattacharjee and Ms. Rahman is supervised by Dr. Tanusree Deb Roy.

Resolution: The DRC members resolved that as they satisfy the criteria so may be allowed to present their Pre-submission seminar.

Item 2: Panel of Experts for Evaluation of the Ph. D. Thesis of

- a. Mr. Shantanu Choudhury
- b. Mr. Mrinal Deka
- c. Ms. Umme Habibah Rahman

Sealed envelope containing the panel of examiners was placed before the RAC members. Mr. Shantanu Choudhury's list was submitted according to the old rule whereas the panel of experts for Mr. Mrinal Deka and Ms. Rahman was submitted according to the 2018 regulation.

Resolution: All the members agreed to that.

Item 3: Ph.D extension periods

- a. Mr. Mainish Pandey
- b. Ms. Sangeeta Goala

Mr. Manish Pandey and Ms. Sangeeta Goala applied for one year extension for submission of their Ph. D. thesis. Both were registered on 17.08.2017. They haven't fulfilled the requisite criterion required for submission of their Ph. D. thesis.

Resolution: The house agreed to their application and asked the matter to be placed in BPGS.

## Item 4: Title registration of Ph.D scholar

Mr. Anadya Prakash Tripathi passed the Ph.D. Course Work Examination with 7.58 SGPA. On the 18<sup>th</sup> of September he presented successfully for his title registration. The title of his research work is "SAMPLE SIZE ESTIMATION OF CONTRACEPTIVE CLINICAL TRIAL: AN EMPERICAL APPROACH WITH TRIAL DATA SIMULATION". Mr. Anadya's synopsis was presented by his supervisor Dr. Rama Shanker in front of the DRC members.

**Resolution:** As the house was satisfied with the requisite criterion so the members suggested to placed it before BPGS.

In any other item the case Lt. Ms. Pushpita Das research scholar of Dr. Jonali Gogoi was discussed. Lt. Ms. Das passed on 14th of April, 2021.

**Resolution:** The house expressed their sorrow to learn about the untimely demise of Ms. Pushpita Das and decided that Dr. jonali Gogoi can take another research scholar in place of the vacancy created due to the untimely demise of Ms. Das.

As there was no other matter to discuss so the meeting ended with thanks from and to the chair.

Rehanker

Win by.

(Dr. Rama Shanker)

(Prof. Niranjan Roy)

Bothdon

Dahattacharjee

(Prof. B. Indrajit Sharma)

(Prof. Dibyojyoti Bhattacharjee)

(Dr. Tanusree Deb Roy)

(Dr. Jonali Gogoi)