

Department of Statistics, Assam University, Silchar-788011

Report on the First Award Giving Ceremony of Statisticians Hub

9th January, 2024

The Department of Statistics, Assam University launched a YouTube channel called "Statisticians' Hub" on the 24th of September, 2023 following necessary permission from the Competent Authority of the University.

The channel is enriched by video lectures submitted by teachers, research scholars, and students of the department and beyond, on different sub-fields of statistical learning and computation.

To boost and encourage people to contribute academic videos to our channel, the following three awards are announced.

Prof. Kishore K. Das Award: To be awarded to Creator of the video with maximum views in 2023

Prof. H H Lemmer Award: An Award for the person submitting maximum number of videos in the Channel in 2023

Late (Sri) Indu Bushan Roy Memorial Award: This award is for the creator of the video that is viewed for maximum hours in 2023

The award giving ceremony was organized on the 9th of January, 2024 at the Seminar Hall of the Department of Statistics, Assam University at 11:30 AM. Each of these awards carried a cash prize of Rs. 1000/-, a trophy and an appreciation certificate.

The occasion was graced by Prof. Kishore K. Das from the Department of Statistics, Gauhati University, Guwahati and Prof. Karabi Dutta Choudhury, Dean, School of Physical Sciences, Assam University. All the teachers, current students, research scholars and some alumni attended the event.

The program started welcoming all to the program by the Head of the Department, Prof. Dibyojyoti Bhattacharjee. In his speech he highlighted the idea and implementation of the channel Statisticians Hub. He expressed that till date the channel has 77 videos, 859 subscribers, 14,723 views, 288 hours viewed and 32 contributors.

In the event certificate and caps with logo of "Statisticians hub" was distributed to all the delegates who contributed video to the channel. The theme music and the Channel song was also played in the program.

The first award delivered was the "Late (Sri) Indu Bushan Roy Memorial Award" which was handed over by DR. Rama Shanker. This award was for the creator of the video that is viewed for maximum hours in 2023. The award went to Ms. S Manjeeta Singha. In this occasion the Dean of the School of Physical Sciences of the University, Prof. (Dr) Karabi Dutta Choudhury, recalled the memories of the great teacher Late (Sri) Indu Bushan Roy.



Ms. Manjeeta Singha receiving the Late (Sri) Indu Bushan Roy Memorial Award from Dr. Rama Shanker

The Prof. H H Lemmer Award was handed over by the Dean of the School of Physical Sciences of the University, Prof. (Dr) Karabi Dutta Choudhury. The award went to Mr. Joy Deb, a research scholar of the department who submitted eight (8) videos (maximum number of videos) to the Channel in 2023.



Mr. Joy Deb receiving the Prof. H H Lemmer Award from Dr. Karabi Dutta Choudhury

The last award was the Prof. Kishore K. Das Award and was supposed to be handed over by Prof. Das himself. The award is for the video in the channel with maximum views in 2023.



Prof. Kishore K Das delivering his speech in the occasion

The award was won by Ms. Sritoma Choudhury with a maximum of 1132 number of views of her video. As Ms. Choudhury was suffering from chicken pox so she could not remain present to receive the award.



Group Photo of the participants of the Award Giving Ceremony
