

MINUTES

OF

118th MEETING (EMERGENT) OF THE

EXECUTIVE COUNCIL

HELD ON 26th APRIL 2018 AT 03.00 P.M. IN THE S. M. ALI SABHA KAKSHA

ASSAM UNIVERSITY (A CENTRAL UNIVERSITY ESTABLISHED BY AN ACT OF PARLIAMENT) SILCHAR

Assam University, Silchar Minutes of the 118th Meeting (Emergent) of the Executive Council

held on 26th April 2018 at 03.00 pm in the S. M. Ali Sabha Kaksha, Assam University, Silchar

Members present: 1. Prof. Dilip Chandra Nath, Vice-Chancellor : Chairman 2. Prof. Sivasish Biswas, Pro-Vice Chancellor, A.U. Diphu Campus: Member 3. Prof. Sanjib Das, Dean, School of Medical & Paramedical Sc. : Member 4. Prof. Nagendra Pandey, Dean, School of Earth Sciences : Member 5. Prof. Sajal Nag, Professor, Dept. of History : Member 6. Dr. Humayun Bokth, Associate Professor, Dept. of Sociology : Member 7. Dr. Mortuja Hussain, Principal, N. C. College, Badarpur : Member 8. Representative of AUNTEA, Mr. Sagnik Choudhury : Special Invitee 9. Representative of AUTA, Dr. Shahin Ara Begum : Special Invitee 10. Dr. Sanjib Bhattacharjee, Registrar : Ex-officio Secretary Members absent : 1. Prof. R. C. Deka, Visitor's Nominee : Member (Absent with intimation) 2. Prof. Anil K Goswami, Visitor's Nominee : Member (Absent with intimation) 3. Padmashree Dr.(Prof.) Indira Nath, Visitor's Nominee : Member 4. Dr. Lakshmi Nandan Bora, Visitor's Nominee : Member (Absent with intimation) 5. Prof. Sudipta Roy, Dean, School of Technology : Member Prof. A. Mazumder, Dean, School of Management : Member 6. Dr. Purnendu Kumar, Principal, Principal, Nehru College : Member 7. Dr. Mizanur Rahman, Principal, Haflong Govt. College : Member

At the outset, the Chairman welcomed all the Members present in the meeting and thereafter being permitted by the Chairman, the meeting formally started.

Item No. 1: Appointment of Chancellor of Assam University :

8. Director, Higher Education, Govt. of Assam

EC:118:04-18:01 : Recommendation of panel of persons for appointment of Chancellor of Assam University to the MHRD shall be decided by the Council.

Xiz Ju

: Member

1

Resolution : The Members of the Council after having detail deliberation on the issue following 04 personalities were nominated by the members keeping in view the relevancy of the position with the available communicating address.

1. Padma Bhushan Prof. Nirmal Kumar Ganguly

Former Director General (ICMR)

Visiting Professor of Eminence, Policy Center for Biomedical Research, Translational Health Science & Technology Institute, Faridabad, India Honorary Senior Research Professor (Clinical Research), Institute of Liver & Biliary Sciences, New Delhi, India & Professor (GRIPMER), The Ganga Ram Institute For Postgraduate Medical Education & Research, Sir Ganga Ram Hospital, New Delhi e-mail: nkganguly@nii.ac.in, nkganguly@thsti.res.in

2. Padma Bhushan Dr. Deviprasad Dwivedi

Deviprasad Dwivedi is an Indian writer and teacher, known for his scholarship in <u>Sanskrit</u> literature.^[1] The <u>Government of India</u> honoured Sharma in 2011, with the third-highest civilian award of <u>Padma Bhushan</u> President Arya Mahila PG College Chetganj, Varanasi 221010 Mob : 9336903537

3. Padma Vibhushan P. Parameswaran

He is the director of Bharatiya Vichara Kendra and the president of Vivekananda Kendra, Kanyakumari. He is also one of the founder members of the International Forum for India's Heritage (IFIH). He was awarded India's second highest civilian award the Padma Vibhushan in 2018 Bharatiya Vichara Kendra Samskrithi Bhavan GPO Lane Statue, Thiruvananthapuram - 1 Phone : 0471 - 2461567 (Res)

4. Padma Shri Professor Anil K. Gupta Ph.D., Management, M.Sc.(Genetics), B.Sc.(Hons), Agri. Indian Institute of Management, Vastrapur, Ahmedabad-380 015 Coordinator, SRISTI Founder, Honey Bee Network Executive Vice Chair, National Innovation Foundation Phone : 7966324927 / 7966324921 Email: <u>anilg@iima.ac.in,anilgb@gmail.com</u>

83. Om

5. Padma Bhushan Prof. Romila Thapar

Professor Emerita, JNU, New Delhi A renowned Historian, Writer, Author of several books.

(Name placed at Sl. No. 5 was proposed by Prof. Sajal Nag, however, the bio data and relevancy papers could not be placed before the Council which was a mandatory requirement for decision in respect to nomination of name. The Council also advised Prof. Nag to submit the relevant papers by 26th April 2018, but Prof. Nag could not provide the relevant information. Accordingly as per the decision of the meeting, the name of Prof. Thapar may not be forwarded to the MHRD and hence **the names at Sl No. 01 to 04 shall be forwarded as decided by the Council**).

The meetings hold on the single issue and therefore being no other item ended with vote of thanks to and from the Chair.

512 27.04.18

(Dr. Sanjib Bhattacharjee) Ex-officio-Secretary Executive Council Assam University, Silchar

(Prof. Dilip Chandra Nath) Vice Chancellor & Chairman Executive Council Assam University, Silchar