

# MINUTES

OF

# 159<sup>™</sup> MEETING (EMERGENT) OF THE EXECUTIVE COUNCIL

## HELD ON

24<sup>th</sup> AUGUST 2023 AT 12.00 NOON IN THE HEMANGA BISWAS COMMITTEE ROOM OF ASSAM UNIVERSITY, SILCHAR

# ASSAM UNIVERSITY

(A CENTRAL UNIVERSITY ESTABLISHED BY AN ACT OF PARLIAMENT)

SILCHAR



1

# Assam University, Silchar

## Minutes of 159<sup>th</sup> Meeting (Emergent) of the Executive Council held on 24<sup>th</sup> August 2023 at 12.00 Noon in the Hemanga Biswas Committee Room of the Vice-Chancellor's Secretariat, Assam University, Silchar.

### The following Members were present :

N

N

	1.	Prof. Rajive Mohan Pant, Vice-Chancellor	:	Chairman	
	2.	Prof. Rashmi Ranjan Mishra, Dean, School of Legal Studies	:	Member	
	3.	Prof. Asoke K Sen, Senior most Professor	:	Member	
	4.	Prof. Piyush Pandey, Director, IQAC	:	Spl. Invitee	
	5.	Dr. Subhadeep Dhar, Finance Officer i/c. : Po	erma	nent Invitee	
	6.	Dr. Pradosh Kiran Nath, <b>Registrar</b> : Ex	c-offic	cio Secretary	
Aembers participated in the meeting through online :					
	1.	Prof. Sivasish Biswas, Pro-Vice Chancellor, AUDC	:	Member	
	2.	Prof. (Retd.) Kashinath Jena, <b>Visitor's Nominee</b> Vice Chancellor, Himalayan University, Uttarakhand	:	Member	
	3.	Prof. Sarbani Giri, Dean, School of Life Sciences	:	Member	
	4.	Prof. Alok Sen, Dean, School of Economics & Commerce	:	Member	
	5.	Prof. Baby Pushpa Sinha, Dean of English & Foreign Lang. Stud	ies :	Member	
	6.	Dr Narendra T., Senior most Associate Professor	:	Member	
	7.	Mr. Anil Ch. Das, Principal, Eastern Karbi Anglong College	:	Member	
1.	1. 1 2. 1 3. I	pers absent : Prof. Krishna Pal Singh, Visitor's Nominee (Absent without intimation) Dr. Sarat C. Kakaty, Visitor's Nominee (Absent without intimation) Prof. Buno Zetsuvi, Visitor's Nominee (Absent with intimation) Director, Higher Education, Govt. of Assam (Absent without intimation)	:	Member Member Member Member	
		k in the second s	-	an	

5. Mr. B. S. Kar, Principal, A. L. Choudhury College, Algapur	: Member
(Absent without intimation)	
6. Principal, Nilambazar College, Nilambazar, Karimganj	: Member

At the outset the Vice-Chancellor and the Chairman of the Executive Council welcomed all the members for attending the meeting. The Chairman also welcomed Prof. Kashinath Jena, Vice Chancellor, Himalayan University, Uttarakhand who participated online in the meeting as **Visitor's Nominee** and welcomed all other members who participated online in the meeting.

Thereafter the meeting formally started and following agenda items were taken up for discussion and resolutions were adopted accordingly.

### Item No. 1 : Nomination of Chancellor of Assam University, Silchar :

**EC:159:08-23:01 :** The Registrar placed before the Council a communication received from Ministry of Education, Department of Higher Education, Govt. of India vide letter No. F. No. 9-4/2018-CU-I dtd. 22.08.2023 for providing the extended panel of names with bio-data for appointment of the Chancellor of Assam University, Silchar duly approved by the Executive Council of the University to the Ministry of Education, Department of Higher Education, Govt. of India immediately for consideration & recommendation of Hon'ble Education Minister to the Hon'ble President of India (in her capacity as Visitor of Assam University) on a priority basis.

The Vice Chancellor & Chairman of the Council placed before the Council following panel with bio-data for nomination as Chancellor of Assam University, Silchar.

### 1. Air Chief Marshal Arup Raha :

(Absent with intimation)

Air Chief Marshal Arup Raha PVSM AVSM VM ADC graduated from the National Defence Academy, Pune with the President's Gold Medal in 1973. He was appointed as Honorary Aide-de-Camp (Air0 to the Hon'ble President of India w.e.f 01 Dec 2012 and also has been appointed as the Chairman, Chiefs of Staff Committee on 31 July 2014. For his distinguished service, he has been awarded Param Vishisht Seva Medal, Ati Vishisht Seva Medal and Vayu Sena Medal.

### 2. Prof. Mihir Kanti Chaudhuri :

Prof. Mihir Kanti Chaudhuri, Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar awardee was the former Vice Chancellor of Tezpur University and presently Education Advisor to the Chief Minister, Govt. of Assam.

#### 3. Prof. Anil Sahasrabudhe :

Prof. Anil Sahasrabudhe is the present Chairman of National Educational Technology Forum (NETF). He was former Chairman of AICTE.

2



**EC:159:08-23:01 :** The Council appreciated the Vice Chancellor for proposing names of such personalities for nomination as Chancellor of Assam University, Silchar and unanimously approved the above panel and authorised the Vice-Chancellor to forward the same with detail bio-data to the Ministry.

There being no other agenda, the meeting ended with a vote of thanks to and from the Chair.

au

and

(Dr. Pradosh Kiran Nath) Registrar & Ex-officio-Secretary Executive Council Assam University, Silchar

(Prof. Rajive Mohan Pant) Vice Chancellor & Chairman Executive Council Assam University, Silchar