• Home
  • Forms
  • Screen Reader Access
  • Skip To Main Content
  • A+ A A-
  • A A

Departmental Profile

 

Department of Bengali started functioning in 1994. The department was one of the first six departments launched in Assam University . Right from inception, the special emphasis of the faculty has been on strengthening the system of higher learning and research in Bengali language and literature. The department fully appreciates its role in the historical context of the language movement in the southern part of Assam. This year the university has set up Barak Bangla Sahitya Academy which is functioning under the department of Bengali. The Academy will collect, preserve, analyse , interpret and disseminate inputs pertaining to the gigantic treasure of folk language and culture that prevails in South Assam and so far has remained by and large unexplored.

Courses Offered

  • 1. M.A(by course work) Duration:Four Semesters Intake Capacity:100
  • 2. M.Phil(by course work and dissertation) Duration:Three Semesters
  • 3. iii)Ph.D(by course and research work)
  • 4. D.Litt (by research work)

Faculty

Name & Qualification Designation Area of Specialization Contact & Email ID
Rama
Bhattacharyya, Ph.D.
Professor Language and Post – Tagore Bengali Literature. rama.bhattacharyya@aus.ac.in
Bela
Das, Ph.D.
Professor Medieval
Bengali Literature,19th Century Bengali Literature and
Feminism.
bela.das@yahoo.co.in
bela.das@aus.ac.in
09435072797
Biswatosh
Choudhury, Ph.D.
Professor Tagore &
Post Tagore Literature.
biswatosh.chowdhury@aus.ac.in
Priya Kanta Nath (Ph.D.) Associate
Professor
Literary Theory and Modern Bengali Literature priya.kanta.nath@aus.ac.in
Debasish Bhattacharjee, Ph.D. Associate Professor Literary Theory, Modern Bengali Literature debashish.bhattacharjee@aus.ac.in

09435522841

Tripti
Paul Choudhury, Ph.D.
Associate
Professor
Comparative
Literature.
tripti.paul.choudhury@aus.ac.in
Santanu
Sarkar, Ph.D.
Asstt.
Professor
Linguistics and Literary Criticism santanu.sarkar@aus.ac.in

09864371190

DurbaDeb, Ph.D Professor Bengali Literature and Manuscriptology durba.deb@aus.ac.in
Rami
Chakraborty, Ph.D.
Asstt. Professor Literary theory and Modern Bengali Literature rami.chakraborty@aus.ac.in
Ashok
Das, Ph.D
Asstt. Professor Literary theory and Modern Bengali Literature ashok.das@aus.ac.in
Alauddin Mandal, Ph.D Asstt. Professor Literary theory and Modern Bengali Literature alauddin.mondal@aus.ac.in
Barunjyoti
Choudhury, Ph.D.
Asstt. Professor Literary theory and Modern Bengali Literature barunjyoti.choudhury@aus.ac.in
barunjyotichoudhury@gmail.com
09401416358,09435596135
Bubul
Sarma, Ph.D
Asstt. Professor Mediaeval Bengali Literature bubul.sarma@aus.ac.in

Head of Department

Prof. Biswatosh Choudhury
(03842) 270364 (O)

Placement

Students passing out of the department generally find placement as faculty members / researchers in universities , colleges and other educational institutions

Centre for Studies in Endangered Languages, Manuscriptology and Folkloristics

The Centre for Studies in Endangered Languages , Manuscriptology and Folkloristics(CELMF) started its functioning on official basis since 01-01-2009 under UGC approval.The Centre is attached to the Deptt. of Bengali of Assam University and is monitored by a Committee having Prof. S.Devi,Dean School of Language as Chairman,Dr.Biswatosh Choudhury,HOD,Bengali as Vice Chairman & Dr.D.Bhattacharya , Reader , Deptt. of Bengali as the Director i/c cum Convener.The members are the three faculties appointed at the centre along with some other teachers from different departments in the school of language.

Faculty

Name & Qualification Designation Area of Specialization Contact & Email ID
Rama Kanta Das, Ph.D Asstt. Professor Folklore ramakanta.das@aus.ac.in
Rahul Das, Ph.D Asstt. Professor Literary Theory & Modern Bengali Literature rahul.das@aus.ac.in

Head of Department

Prof. Biswatosh Choudhury