(A Central University Established by an Act of Parliament)



             Assam University came into existence through Assam (Central) University Act, 1989(Established under an Act of Parliament) . It was  established in 1994,since then  the University is steadily becoming  an excellent centre of learning.

The campus, situated in Dargakona, about 20 kms from  Silchar, is set amid sprawling hillocks, a typical landscape in the  North East. The campus  in an area of  600 acres surrounded by lakes and mountains provides  an ideal environment for academic pursuit.

 Drawing its 300 plus faculty from many disciplines, from all over the country, the university sustains a multidisciplinary approach to higher education.

 The University has Sixteen Schools on major disciplines.  There are Forty One Departments  under these Sixteen Schools.

read more  

view more  


Assam University aspires to translate the multidimensional collective dream of the community      of the region into reality.
         VC's Desk 

Prof. Dilip Chandra Nath, Vice Chancellor

   Latest News         

   MBA Admission, 2018Drive 2
   Ph D/M Phil Admission, 2018
  Campus Network SupportContacts   Affidavit form of Anti-ragging
  Student Satisfaction Survey Report 2017   XII Plan Expenditure Statement
  Vidyalakshmi-Educational LoanApply