• Home
  • Forms
  • Screen Reader Access
  • Skip To Main Content
  • A+ A A-
  • A A

Home

Departmental Profile

The Department of English began its journey in 1994 (the year of the establishment of Assam University). Since then the students hailing from various parts of the country have been pursuing their studies for M.A., M. Phil., and Ph.D. Degrees. The success rate of the students has all along been very good. The MA programme and the research activities of the Department place particular focus on various fields of studies like, British English Literature, American Literature, Indian English Literature, Indian Literature in English Translation, New Literatures in English, Ethnic Literatures, Cultural Studies, Drama Studies, Postcolonial Studies, Translation Studies, and English Language Teaching, etc.

The ICT – based Smart Class Room system available in the Department helps in better teaching with the use of Audio-Visual aids. The Departmental library has been expanded with the addition of new books and infrastructure

Courses Offered Duration Number of Seats Program Course Structure Timetable
M.A.(by course work) Four Semester 50 M.A(Syllabus)
M.Phil   (by course work & dissertation)
Ph.D. (by course work & research work)
D.Litt (by research work)……

Faculty

Name & Qualification Designation Area of Specialization Contact & Email ID
Dipendu Das,  Ph.D. Professor(HoD) Drama Studies, New Literatures in English, Indian English Writing and Translation Studies dipendudas2011@gmail.com
Rama Prasad Biswas, Ph.D.  Professor Narrative/ Discourse Analysis, Modern and Postmodern Literature rama.prasad.biswas@aus.ac.in
Baby Puspa Sinha,  Ph.D. Assistant Professor American Fiction baby.pushpa.sinha@aus.ac.in
Anindya Syam Choudhury,
Ph.D., PGCTE, PGDTE (EFLU), Cert TESOL (Trinity London)
Assistant Professor ELT, Stylistics, English Linguistics, Indian English Writing anindya.syam.choudhury@aus.ac.in
anindyasyam@yahoo.com
Sumana Chakraborty, M Phil, Ph.D. Assistant Professor Fiction, American Literature sumana.chakraborty@aus.ac.in
Saugata Kumar Nath, M Phil, Ph.D. Assistant Professor Drama Studies, Indian English Writing, New Literatures in English saugata.kumar.nath@aus.ac.in
Lalthakim Hmar,  Ph.D. Assistant Professor Literary Theory. lalthakim.hmar@aus.ac.in
Sib Sankar Majumder,  M.A Assistant Professor Drama & Theatre Studies, Postcolonial Literature sib.sanjar.mazumdar@aus.ac.in
ssmaus1980@gmail.com
Jaydeep Chakraborty,  Ph.D. Assistant Professor Commonwealth and Postcolonial Literature, Theory jaydeep.chakraborty@aus.ac.in
Anindya Sen,  M.Phil Assistant Professor Modernism, Post Modernism anindya.sen@aus.ac.in

Head of the Department

Prof. Dipendu Das

Placement

A large number of passed out students of the Department are now employed as teachers in different universities, colleges and other educational institutions in India. A good number of students have found placements in various industrial and service organisations in different parts of India. Some are also employed in the corporate sectors.