• Home
  • Forms
  • Screen Reader Access
  • Skip To Main Content
  • A+ A A-
  • A A

Departmental Profile

 

The Department of Social Work started its journey in July 1997. The department runs Five Year Integrated Course in Social Work which leads to BSW (three years) and MSW (two years) Degrees. The course curriculum is designed as per the CBCS pattern prescribed by the UGC and offers the papers of special interest in the area of Family and Child Welfare, Rural Development, Tribal Development, Psychosocial Counselling, NGO Management, Micro Finance and Livelihood, Dynamics of Human behaviour etc. The Department also runs Ph. D. Programme, where the thrust of the current research endeavours in the areas like Healthcare, Reproductive and Child Health Programme (RCH), Sex Education, HIV/ AIDS, ICDS Services, Panchayati Raj, Non Governmental Organizations, Women in Unorganized Sector, Self Help Groups, Corporate Voluntarism, Water and Sanitation, Disaster Management, Psychosocial problems of Elderly, Cancer, Tuberculosis, etc. The department has initiated outreach activities in the nearby rural communities.

Courses Offered

Courses Offered Duration Number of Seats
M.S.W. (by course work) Ten Semesters 50
Ph.D. (by course & research work)
D. Litt (by research work)

Faculty

Name Designation Area of Specialization Contact & Email ID
Gopalji Mishra,  MA (SW), Ph.D. Professor Community sDevelopment (Health) gopal.ji.mishra@aus.ac.in

gopaljimishraaus@gmail.com

09435171943

Subhabrata
Dutta  MSW, M.Phil, PGCRM, Ph.D.
Professor Governance, Panchayati Raj & Rural Development. subhabrata.dutta@aus.ac.in

dutta_sub@yahoo.com

09435171901

M. Gangabhushan, MSW, PGDLL, Ph.D. Professor Industrial Relation and Personal Management molankal.gangabhushan@aus.ac.in

gangabhushan@gmail.com

09401020601

M. Tineshwori Devi, MA (SW), M.Phil, Ph.D. Professor Adolescent and Health moirangthem.tineshowri.devi@aus.ac.in

moirangi@yahoo.com

09435172776

Tarun Bikas Sukai, MSW, PGDHRM, Ph.D. Associate Professor NGO’s HIV/AIDs tarun.bikash.sukai@aus.ac.in

tbsukai@gmail.com

09435522275

Mrityunjay Singh, MA (SW),Ph.D Assistant Professor Social Development mrityunjay.kumar.singh@aus.ac.in

mrityunjayksingh@gmail.com

09954233732

Ritwika Rajendra,  MSW, Ph.D. Assistant Professor Family and Child Welfare ritwika.rajendra@aus.ac.in
Anupam Hazra,  MSW, Ph.D. Assistant Professor(On Lean) Community Development  anupam688@yahoo.co.in
Ratna Huirem,  MSW, Ph.D. Assistant Professor Community Development ratna.huirem@aus.ac.in

huiremratna@gmail.com

9435174434

Kathiresan L.,  MA (SW), M.Phil, Ph.D Assistant Professor Health care kathiresan.l@aus.ac.in

kadir.jnu@gmail.com

9435377301

G. Albin Joseph, MA (SW), M.Phil, Ph.D. Assistant Professor NGO Management, Youth Development, Disability Studies

albinjosephg@gmail.com

9435175167

Lalzo S. Thangom,  MA (SW), Ph.D. Assistant Professor URCD, HIV/AIDS lalzosthangjom@gmail.com

 

Aditi Nath, MA (SW) Ph.D. Assistant Professor Partnership Development & NGO Management  aditinath1@gmail.com
Ajit Kr. Jena, MA., M.Phil. Assistant Professor Social Policy, Social legislation  ajitjena23@gmail.com
Kaivalya T. Desai, MA (SW) Ph.D. Assistant Professor Social Work Education  kaivalya.desai@gmail.com
Joyashri Dey, MSW, Ph.D. Assistant Professor(Leave Vacancy) Governance & Community Development  joyasreedey1@gmail.com

Head of Department

Prof. M. Gangabhushan
  (03842) 270821 (O)

Placement

More than ninety per cent of the students who have passed out from this Department have been employed by Governmental and Non Governmental Organizations (NGOs) at the state and national levels

Field Work