• Home
  • Newsletter
  • Diphu Campus
  • Admission
  • Examination
  • Customization


Departmental Profile

The Department of Physics started its functioning in 1996. The Department offers a four – Semester M. Sc. programme (Two years duration) where the students at present can opt for one of the two specializations – i) Astrophysics and ii) Condensed Matter Physics, with laboratory classes. Research areas that are covered at present include – Astrophysics, Particle Physics, Cosmology, Chemical Physics (with application to biomolecules), Atmospheric Physics. The Department possesses several sophisticated instruments, including 16 inch Mead Telescope, 14-inch Celestron Telescope, Astronomical CCD, Photometer, Ellipsometer, FTIR, and UV visible spectrophotometer. The Department also has a cluster computing facility.

Courses Offered

Courses Offered Duration Number of Seats Time Table Syllabus
M.Sc. (by course work) Four Semester 50 Time Table (1st Sem) Syllabus (as on May 24, 2023)
M.Phil(by course work & dissertation)
Ph.D.(by course work & research work) Syllabus (As on May 24, 2023)


Name & Qualification Designation Area of Specialization Contact & Email ID
Asoke K. Sen,  Ph.D. Professor Astrophysics, Optics, Relativity asokesen@yahoo.com


Atri Deshamukhya,  Ph.D. Professor High Energy Physics, Phenomenology, String Cosmology atri.deshamukhya@gmail.com


B. Indrajit Sharma,  Ph.D. Professor Condensed Matter Physics indraofficial@rediffmail.com


Himadri Sekhar Das, Ph.D. Professor Astrophysics hsdas13@gmail.com
Utpal Sarkar, Ph.D. Associate Professor Chemical Physics, Electronic Structure Calculation utpalchemiitkgp@gmail.com
Pradeep Kumar Shukla, Ph.D. Associate Professor Chemical Physics, Biophysics pkshukla@ymail.com


Swarnadeep Biswas, Ph. D. Assistant Professor
Electronics & Radio Physics
Bidhan Mahanta,  Ph.D. Associate Professor Nuclear Physics, Nano Physics, Biophysics mbidhan@gmail.com
Mahananda Baro, Ph.D. Assistant Professor Electronics mahananda925458@gmail.com



Head of the Department

Prof. Himadri Sekhar Das

Mobile: 7002836376

Email: himadri.sekhar.das@aus.ac.in


Alumni of the Department of Physics of Assam University are now serving as faculty members and researchers in universities, colleges, and research institutions in different parts of the country and outside and also in several industrial organizations. Many of the former students of the Department have also qualified in competitive examinations like JRF, GATE, and GRE, and are pursuing advanced courses.

Swachh Bharat Abhiyan

Photo Gallery

Departmental Activity

Departmental Activity at a Glance

Upcoming events

Coming soon