• Home
  • Awards
  • Newsletter
  • Diphu Campus
  • Admission
  • Examination
  • Recruitment
  •  :
  •  :
  •  :
  • Accessibility

Departmental Profile

The Department of Computer Science was established in July 1997. The Department offers a five-year integrated course leading to the Degree of M. Sc. in Computer Science. Provision exists for the lateral exit with the Degree of B. Sc. (Computer Science) after successful completion of all the courses up to six semesters. The Department also offers a two-year M. Sc. (Computer Science) course and Ph. D. Programme.

Courses Offered

Courses Offered Duration Number of Seats Time Table Syllabus
M.Sc., Integrated (by course work) * Ten Semesters 88 Time Table Syllabus
M.Sc. (by coursework) * Four Semesters 19 Time Table Syllabus
Ph. D. (by course & research work)        

* Provision also exists for lateral exit after six semesters with a B. Sc. Degree in Computer Science.

Head of Department

Prof. Shahin Ara Begum, PhD.
Email: hod_cs@aus.ac.in
(03842) 270825 (O)
+91 7896570786 (M)

Admission Coordinator

Dr. Bishwa Ranjan Roy, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
+91 7002816218


The placement pattern of the passed-out students has been encouraging. Alumni of the department of Computer Science of Assam University are now to be found in organisations like IBM, TCS, Infosys, ORACLE, HCL, WiproTech, Cognizant and many others including educational and research institutions in India and abroad.