• Home
  • Forms
  • Screen Reader Access
  • Skip To Main Content
  • A+ A A-
  • A A

Departmental Profile

The Department of Economics is one of the first six departments of Assam University which began  its  journey in July 1994. The major  activities  of  the  department include imparting quality education to students admitted to the different academic programmes of the department and supervision of scholars at Ph.D. and M.Phil levels. The department has been laying special emphasis on developing proper understanding of the socio-economic problems and specifities of North East India. The on-going researches in the department cover such areas as agricultural economics,social sectors, human development, environmental economics, and gender studies, among others.

Courses Offered

Courses Offered Duration Number of Seats Program Course Structure
M.A. (by course work) Four Semester 77 Syllabus
M.Phil (by course work & dissertation). Semester
Ph.D. (by course & research work)
D. Litt. (by research work)

Faculty

Name & Qualification Designation Area of Specialization Contact & Email ID
Niranjan Roy,  Ph.D. Professor Agricultural Economics,Environmental Economics and Social sector issues niranjan.roy@aus.ac.in
Sumanash Dutta,  Ph.D. Professor Development Economics, Human Development, Population Studies & Economics of Education. sumanash.dutta@aus.ac.in
Alok Sen,  Ph.D. Professor Micro Economics, Environmental Economics, Econometrics alok.sen@aus.ac.in
M. A. Ansari,  M.Phil.,Ph.D. Professor Political
Economy, Agricultural Economics
mahmood.alam.ansari@aus.ac.in
Subhrabaran
Das,  Ph.D.
Assistant
Professor
Econometrics subhrabaran.das@aus.ac.in
Ritwik Mazumder,  Ph.D. Assistant Professor Statistics and Econometrics (Econometric Modeling And Applications, Mathematical Statistics) & Environmental Economics r_itwikm@yahoo.com
ritwiksmazumder@gmail.com
ritwik.mazumder@aus.ac.in
Raju Mandal,  M.A. Assistant
Professor
Macroeconomics, Environmental and Natural Resources Economics raju.mandal@aus.ac.in
Avijit Debnath, PhD Assistant
Professor
International
Economics.
avijit.debnath@aus.ac.in
Sagarika
Dey,  Ph.D.
Assistant
Professor
Econometrics, Rural Development & Rural livelihoods, Micro-Economics sagarika.dey@aus.ac.in
Shrabanti
Maity,  Ph.D
Assistant
Professor
Econometrics,Mathematical Economics. shrabanti.maity@aus.ac.in
Manash
Roy,  M.Phil.
Assistant
Professor
Operation Research & Econometrics manas.roy@aus.ac.in

Head of the Department

Prof. Niranjan Roy
03842-270853 (O)

Placement

Many former students of the department are now serving as faculty members in colleges and other academic institutions both within and outside North East India. The passed out students are also engaged in banks, insurance, and other public sector industrial and service organizations.